Valimail Alternative: Transparent Pricing and Self-Serve DMARC Without the Demo Gate
You evaluated Valimail, clicked “Request Pricing,” and got a sales form instead of a number. For an SMB or mid-market team, an opaque quote and a required demo call are friction before you have seen any value — which is why “valimail pricing” and “valimail alternative” are two of the most common searches around this product. The question this post answers is narrow: which Valimail alternative fits a team that wants published pricing and self-serve onboarding.
Valimail is a capable, FedRAMP-authorized DMARC platform — and now part of DigiCert. This is a dated, even-handed comparison: Valimail’s actual published pricing, its free-tier terms, the DigiCert acquisition, what third-party reviews say, the full field of alternatives, and how DMARCguard compares. Start by checking where you stand — check your domain’s DMARC, SPF, and DKIM status free, no signup required.
Why Teams Look for a Valimail Alternative in 2026
Most teams searching for a Valimail alternative are SMB or mid-market buyers who hit one of three walls: quote-only pricing, a sales-gated upgrade from the free tier, or reporting that shows what failed but not what to fix. None of these is a product defect — they are signs of a tool built for a larger buyer than the one doing the searching.
The pattern is visible in Valimail’s own review data. G2’s auto-generated negative tags, drawn from real user reviews, are led by “Expensive” (28 mentions), followed by “Limited Reporting” (20), “Lack of Detail” (20), “Insufficient Data” (20), and “DMARC Issues” (18) (G2 reviews). At the same time, G2’s DMARC category page shows Valimail’s reviewer base skews 43% small-business and 34% mid-market (G2 DMARC category) — yet the paid Enforce product and its quote-only pricing are positioned for enterprise. That mismatch is the friction.
Reviewers say it plainly. One current small-domain owner notes the path from Monitor to paid tiers is “heavily gated by sales conversations” and wishes they could “self-serve into the next tier with transparent pricing.” Another writes that Valimail “primarily focuses on the WHAT,” not the why or how. A third says the dashboard “feels overbuilt for a single-domain user; it is clearly designed for IT teams managing many domains” (G2 pros and cons). For a small team, the gap is fit, not quality.
How Much Does Valimail Cost? Pricing, Compared
Valimail publishes one price: Monitor is free. Enforce Starter, Premium, and Enterprise all read “Contact us for custom pricing,” and the Amplify BIMI add-on is “Contact Us for Pricing” (valimail.com/pricing). Every paid tier depends on a sales conversation.
That sales conversation is keyed to usage. Valimail’s own Request Pricing page states a quote depends on “email volume, number of domains and subdomains, sending services, and organization size,” billed on an annual contract (Request Pricing). The only public dollar figures come from the AWS Marketplace listing, which shows an estimated $60,000 per 12 months for Valimail Enforce Enterprise, with add-ons of $1,500 per additional domain, $500 per additional sending service, and $1,000 per additional 100K emails per month, sold as 12-, 24-, or 36-month contracts (AWS Marketplace). Treat that as a marketplace estimate, not a list price — the listing itself says “Contact Valimail for a quote.”
DMARCguard takes the opposite approach: every price is published before signup. The free plan covers 2 domains with no credit card. Pro is $29/mo for 2 domains, then per domain: $15/domain (3–10) and $10/domain (11+) — with no per-email-volume overage, and annual billing is 2 months free. Founding members pay 50% less for 24 months, then keep a permanent alumni discount. For the full line-by-line breakdown, see our Valimail pricing comparison.
| Plan / tier | Vendor | Published price | How you buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monitor | Valimail | Free | Self-serve, no card |
| Enforce — Starter | Valimail | Not publicly listed | Quote-only (sales form) |
| Enforce — Premium | Valimail | Not publicly listed | Quote-only (sales form) |
| Enforce — Enterprise | Valimail | Not publicly listed ($60,000 per 12 months, AWS est.*) | Quote-only (sales form) |
| Amplify (BIMI add-on) | Valimail | Not publicly listed | Quote-only (sales form) |
| Free | DMARCguard | Free (2 domains) | Self-serve, no card |
| Pro | DMARCguard | $29/mo incl. 2 domains, then $15/domain (3–10) and $10/domain (11+) | Self-serve, no sales call |
DMARCguard pricing is quoted net: excl. VAT & sales tax. Competitor prices are shown as each vendor publishes them.
* AWS Marketplace estimate for a 12-month Enterprise contract plus usage overages, not a Valimail list price.
Is Valimail Free? Monitor Free-Tier Limits
Yes — Valimail Monitor is genuinely free and self-serve, with no trial clock, credit card, or sales call. It gives you DMARC visibility and a BIMI logo preview, but it caps users and automation. Per Valimail’s own comparison grid, Monitor includes 5 users, 10 SPF lookups, “Limited” automated DMARC, no automated DKIM, and no downloadable reports (valimail.com/pricing).
Valimail’s pricing grid states the 5-user cap but does not publish a domain limit for Monitor, so confirm domain and retention limits when you sign up. Either way, automation (SPF, DKIM, downloadable reports) requires paying.
DMARCguard’s free plan draws the line differently: 2 domains, 1 user, 30-day retention, and 7 of 9 email authentication protocols, with no credit card and no business-use restriction: broader protocol coverage and the same zero-friction signup.
Valimail Monitor vs Enforce — What Changes When You Pay
Monitor is free visibility; Valimail Enforce is the paid tier that automates DMARC, SPF, and DKIM and moves you toward enforcement — and it is demo-gated behind a quote. Enforce Starter adds automated DMARC (RFC 9989), instant/unlimited SPF, automated DKIM, downloadable and executive reports, onboarding assistance, and a dedicated account manager (valimail.com/pricing).
The friction reviewers describe is the gap between free visibility and paid
enforcement, with no transparent mid-tier between them. (An older “Align” tier
no longer appears on the current pricing page — see the acquisition section; we
do not assert it was retired.) Getting to enforcement is where the real work
is. Under RFC 9989 §4.7, a DMARC policy progresses from p=none (monitor only)
through p=quarantine to p=reject (full enforcement), and reaching that last
step is what actually stops spoofing — visibility alone does not.
12.8% of 5.5M domains reach DMARC enforcement (p=reject or p=quarantine); 57.9% of DMARC domains are stuck at p=none. Visibility is the starting point — an affordable, self-serve path to enforcement is what most domains still lack.
That is the case for transparent pricing: when only one in eight domains ever reaches enforcement, a sales call between the free tier and paid Enforce is a real barrier for the SMB majority that needs to cross it.
What the DigiCert Acquisition Means for Valimail Customers
DigiCert announced its acquisition of Valimail on September 16, 2025. Terms were not disclosed, and Valimail told customers nothing changes for their account, login, or contracts. Both the DigiCert press release and Valimail’s acquisition blog are dated the same day.
What is confirmed: Valimail rebranded as “a DigiCert Company”; DigiCert launched a “Messaging Trust” line that folds DMARC and BIMI into its DigiCert ONE platform; three new Enforce features were added (Privacy-safe RUF+, DKIM Continuous Protection, and Senders Continuous Protection); and Valimail Amplify added a BIMI Simulator and Common Mark Certificate support. Valimail’s blog states verbatim: “Nothing changes for your account or login. There are no planned migrations, no new credentials, and no action required.”
One claim circulating online — that the Align tier was “silently retired” after the deal — appears on some third-party comparison pages but is not confirmed by any Valimail or DigiCert primary source. The accurate statement is narrower: Align is simply absent from the current pricing page, which lists Monitor, Enforce, and Amplify, and no end-of-life notice exists. An ownership change is a legitimate reason to re-evaluate any vendor’s roadmap and pricing direction, but it is not, on its own, a knock on the product. Valimail also remains the only DMARC provider with FedRAMP authorization — a genuine differentiator for public-sector buyers.
Valimail Reviews — Strengths and Limitations
Across review platforms, a Valimail review trends positive — 4.6 out of 5 on G2 — with praise for fast setup and support, and recurring complaints about price and shallow reporting. Reviewers credit Valimail with one-DNS-record setup “in under ten minutes,” named and responsive support (Gartner Peer Insights rates Valimail Enforce 4.9/5 from 10 reviews), and a free Monitor tier that “provides more useful information than other services I tried” (G2 pros and cons, Gartner).
The limitations are the mirror image: “Expensive” is the top negative tag, reporting explains “the WHAT” more than the why, the dashboard can feel overbuilt for single-domain users, and one reviewer notes subdomains are reported as the top-level domain. Read the ratings with two caveats — many G2 reviews are tagged “Incentivized,” and Capterra, Trustpilot, and TrustRadius have thin counts.
| Platform | Rating | Reviews | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.5 / 5 | 459 | Seller page shows 4.6/5 (441) — discrepancy |
| Gartner Peer Insights | 4.9 / 5 | 10 | Valimail Enforce; small sample |
| Capterra | 5.0 / 5 | 1 | Thin signal |
| Trustpilot | 3.7 / 5 | 1 | Thin signal |
| TrustRadius | No score | — | Not enough ratings to score |
Valimail Competitors and Alternatives Compared
The most-cited Valimail competitors in 2026 are Proofpoint, Red Sift OnDMARC, EasyDMARC, PowerDMARC, DMARC Report, and DMARCguard. They differ most on pricing transparency, protocol breadth, and SMB-versus-enterprise fit. On G2, EasyDMARC rates 4.8/5 and PowerDMARC 4.9/5; G2’s Valimail alternatives listing notes Red Sift OnDMARC for integrated BIMI with VMC provisioning (G2 alternatives).
| Tool | Published pricing? | Free tier | Protocol focus | Best-fit segment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Proofpoint | No (quote-only) | No | DMARC + broader email security | Enterprise |
| Red Sift OnDMARC | Partial | Trial | DMARC + integrated BIMI/VMC | Mid-market / enterprise |
| EasyDMARC | Yes | Yes (limited) | DMARC, SPF, DKIM, BIMI, MTA-STS | SMB / MSP |
| PowerDMARC | Yes | Yes | DMARC, SPF, BIMI, MTA-STS, TLS-RPT | SMB / MSP (white-label) |
| DMARC Report (DuoCircle) | Yes (~$25/mo) | Yes | DMARC monitoring | SMB |
| DMARCguard | Yes (per-domain) | Yes (2 domains) | 9 protocols incl. ARC, DANE/TLSA | SMB / mid-market / MSP |
If pricing transparency and self-serve onboarding are your deciding factors, the branded contenders cluster around the SMB and MSP tiers. For the full paid-tool roundup, see our best DMARC monitoring tools guide, and for a closer single-vendor look, our PowerDMARC alternative comparison. If you want to start at $0, the best free DMARC tools roundup compares every free tier.
DMARCguard — A Self-Serve Valimail Alternative DMARC Monitoring Tool
DMARCguard (our product) is a self-serve Valimail alternative built for SMB and mid-market teams: published per-domain pricing, no demo gate, and monitoring across nine email authentication protocols. The free tier covers 7 of those 9; Pro adds DANE/TLSA and ARF.
What that buys, stated plainly. ARC chain analysis. Named sender identification, so reports show “Mailchimp” instead of a raw IP address. Remediation guidance on every insight — the “what to fix,” which directly addresses the “explains the what, not the why” gap reviewers cite about Valimail. Full CSV and JSON export plus API access, with no vendor lock-in. An MCP server that exposes AI tools to compatible clients. And a free plan that needs no credit card.
| Criterion | Valimail | DMARCguard |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Monitor free; every Enforce tier quote-only | Free; Pro $29/mo including 2 domains, then $15/domain (3–10) and $10/domain (11+); founding is 50% off |
| Buying motion | Free self-serve; all paid tiers demo-gated by quote | Self-serve signup; free plan, no card |
| Free tier | Monitor: 5 users, 10 SPF lookups, no automated DKIM / downloadable reports | 2 domains, 7 protocols, no business-use limit |
| Protocol focus | DMARC, SPF, DKIM, BIMI | 9 protocols incl. ARC, DANE/TLSA, TLS-RPT, ARF |
| Best-fit segment | Enterprise; FedRAMP; large multi-domain ecosystems | SMB / mid-market / MSP wanting transparent pricing |
| Ownership | DigiCert company (acquired 2025-09-16) | Independent, bootstrapped |
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Valimail free?
Yes. Valimail Monitor is free and self-serve, with no trial, credit card, or sales call. It includes DMARC visibility and a BIMI logo preview but caps you at 5 users, 10 SPF lookups, limited automated DMARC, and no automated DKIM or downloadable reports. Paid Enforce automation is quote-only (valimail.com/pricing).
How much does Valimail cost?
Valimail publishes one price — Monitor is free. Enforce Starter, Premium, and Enterprise all read “Contact us for custom pricing,” and Amplify is quote-only. The AWS Marketplace listing for Enforce Enterprise shows an estimate of $60,000 per 12 months plus add-ons for extra domains, email volume, and sending services — an estimate, not a list price.
Did DigiCert acquire Valimail?
Yes. DigiCert announced its acquisition of Valimail on September 16, 2025; terms were not disclosed. Valimail rebranded as “a DigiCert Company” and told customers nothing changes for their account, login, or contracts. DigiCert also launched a “Messaging Trust” line folding DMARC and BIMI into DigiCert ONE.
What is the best Valimail alternative?
It depends on your needs. For enterprises wanting FedRAMP-authorized enforcement, Proofpoint and Valimail itself fit. For SMB and mid-market teams wanting transparent pricing, DMARC Report, EasyDMARC, PowerDMARC, Red Sift OnDMARC, and DMARCguard are the most-cited options. Compare pricing transparency and protocol breadth.
What is the difference between Valimail Monitor and Enforce?
Monitor is the free visibility tier — it shows your sending sources and DMARC status. Enforce is the paid tier that automates DMARC, SPF, and DKIM and moves you toward p=reject enforcement, with onboarding and a dedicated account manager. Enforce pricing is quote-only behind a sales form.
Can I migrate from Valimail to another DMARC tool?
Yes. DMARC reporting is portable: add the new tool’s RUA mailto address to your DMARC record, run both in parallel during cutover, confirm reports arrive, then remove the old address. No data is lost from your DNS, and your enforcement policy stays intact throughout.
Choosing the Right Valimail Alternative
Three findings should drive the decision. Pricing: Valimail publishes one price — free Monitor — and gates every Enforce tier behind a quote. Ownership: Valimail is now a DigiCert company as of September 16, 2025, with continuity promised but a new owner’s roadmap to watch. Fit: the friction reviewers describe is a tool built for enterprise being evaluated by an SMB majority.
The right Valimail alternative depends on which side of that line you sit on. If you need FedRAMP enforcement and have the budget, Valimail and Proofpoint fit the brief. If you want published per-domain pricing and self-serve onboarding, DMARC Report, EasyDMARC, PowerDMARC, Red Sift OnDMARC, and DMARCguard are the contenders. Check your domain’s DMARC, SPF, and DKIM status free, then start monitoring on a free plan — no credit card, no demo call.